Dispatches from Inner Space
The Nooner with J.E. Petersen
No, I can’t do all the things
3
0:00
-2:47

No, I can’t do all the things

Escaping the fog of denial
3

This is The Nooner, a short daily (Monday - Saturday) newsletter slash podcast that has its very own section within Dispatches from Inner Space.

Every Sunday, I publish the Dispatches Weekly Digest (DWD), which lets you binge all the Nooners from the previous week. It also includes a meaningful song recommendation, and a short segment I call TMI, where I go off script to bring you backstage, so to speak.

Two more things about the DWD:

  1. It goes on on the main Dispatches channel, so if you’re looking to spare your inbox from the daily emails without missing out on anything, you can specifically unsubscribe from The Nooner section, and still get the Digest on Sunday.

  2. It’s only available to paid subscribers.

The Dispatches Weekly Digest is a labor of love, and I’m really proud of it, and if you want to hear it, I want you to hear it. So, if you can afford it…

And if you can’t, but you still think of yourself as one of my true fans, let me know and we’ll work something out.


On not ever writing enough

Alright, so we’re 67 days into this daily newsletter slash podcast, and a number of people have said nice things about how prolific I am, and what great work I’m doing.

But of course the praise of others can never satisfy my own judgmental self. No matter how much I write, it never feels like enough.

When I’m not writing a lot, when I don’t have good habits around it, it’s easy to believe that if I could just get on a consistent writing schedule, I would be able to write and finish everything I want to write and finish.

All the things!

But then I get myself on a good schedule, and start to write a lot, and come face to face with the truth, which is that there will never be enough time to write and finish all the things.

It’s so much easier to drift comfortably along in a fog of denial if I’m not actually putting in the hours.

Anyway, the reason this is coming up for me again right now is that I’ve been getting a lot of really valuable feedback on my novel from the first round of test readers, and it’s become clear to me that it’s time to start working on the final draft before I start submitting it to agents. But even though I’m writing every day, and keeping up with the Nooner, I have so far failed to set aside any time at all to do this.

Whine whine whine.

Whatever, I don’t actually need to abandon either the Nooner or the novel, I just need to carve out a little more time to do both.

No, there won’t ever be enough time to do everything that matters, but that doesn’t mean I can’t make time to do the things that matter most.

Honestly all it takes is I probably have to watch less YouTube. What else is new??

3 Comments
Dispatches from Inner Space
The Nooner with J.E. Petersen
Dispatches from Inner Space presents: The Nooner - a daily distribution of open-ended ideas.