Dispatches from Inner Space
The Nooner with J.E. Petersen
Aliens wouldn't change anything
5
0:00
-2:59

Aliens wouldn't change anything

We'd still have bills to pay
5

This is The Nooner, a short daily (Monday - Saturday) newsletter slash podcast that has its very own section within Dispatches from Inner Space.

Every Sunday, I publish the Dispatches Weekly Digest (DWD), which lets you binge all the Nooners from the previous week. It also includes a meaningful song recommendation, and a short segment I call TMI, where I go off script to bring you backstage, so to speak.

The DWD goes on on the main Dispatches channel, so if you’re looking to spare your inbox from the daily emails without missing out on anything, you can specifically unsubscribe from The Nooner section, and still get the Digest on Sunday.


A terrible truth

Let’s say, for the sake of argument, that aliens have been visiting us for a long time. Abducting people, maybe, conducting experiments, flying around in UFOs — you know, the whole thing.

What I’ve been wondering recently is this: what difference would it make?

I mean, it SEEMS like a really important thing, right? Like, it’s easy to think that the biggest question humanity faces is whether or not we’re alone in the universe.

But… what would YOU actually do differently in your life if you suddenly found out that a lot of the alien rumors you thought were tinfoil hat wearing nonsense were actually completely legit? How would your life change?

Would it change at all?

For most of us, when it comes right down to it, the answer is...no.

Don’t get me wrong, I hate this. Ever since I was a sci-fi obsessed kid, the notion that there might not only be aliens somewhere out in the cosmos, but that they might be here already seemed like the end-all issue. If someone had convinced me that they were, and that it was my job to go prove it to the rest of the world, I would have thought I’d been handed the winning lotto ticket to life.

But now that I’m a boring-ass grown up, with a wife and two kids, and a job to do and bills to pay and groceries to buy and an apartment to clean and... I’m just not sure definitive proof of aliens among us would really change anything.

I mean I’d be stoked.

But then there is almost no question in my mind that I’d still be making pancakes on Saturday mornings and picking up my son from first grade on Wednesdays and Fridays. I’d keep going to church, I wouldn’t quit my job.

What about you? I’m genuinely curious. Please weigh in.

Discussion about this podcast

Dispatches from Inner Space
The Nooner with J.E. Petersen
Dispatches from Inner Space presents: The Nooner - a daily distribution of open-ended ideas.