Dispatches from Inner Space
The Nooner with J.E. Petersen
Should I get into mechanical watch repair?
1
0:00
-2:29

Should I get into mechanical watch repair?

1

Some of you got a SNEAK PEAK of this post a few days ago, when I accidentally clicked “Publish Now” instead of scheduling it. Apologies for the public indecency. It won’t happen again! OK it might happen again. I’m a one man show over here, but hey, I’m doing my best.


This is The Nooner, a (very short) daily newsletter slash podcast that has its very own section within Dispatches from Inner Space.

To see the first post, which doubles as an explainer, click here.

Also a quick reminder that you can listen to the podcast version of each post wherever you listen to podcasts.


Hold on just one second

The other day, a new friend and I were nerding out about YouTube channels, and he ended up going on at some length about his favorite one, called Wristwatch Revival. His excitement was contagious, so, the next day, I went and took a look.

Several videos later, I’m asking myself, should *I* get into mechanical watch repair?

It’s a compelling suggestion.

For a while I’ve felt like I need a good hobby that lets me use my hands for something other than typing. Something with a long learning curve. Something that would generate that sweet sense of accomplishment, and maybe a little cash on the side.

Also something that would fit into the slim profile of apartment living in Los Angeles (which is, I grant, extravagant compared to New York, but still.)

But before I can consider YOLOing into this too seriously, I have to ask whether there might be a disproportionately potent ingredient in the cocktail of my fresh enthusiasm.

What could this secret sauce be?

Perhaps it’s the fact that I’ve fallen a few days behind on my Nooner posts. Could it be that watching another deconstruction of an eighty-year-old Rolex is helping me avoid writing?

*Gasp!*

Alright. Sure! Maybe I do have some kind of future in mechanical watch repair, but trying to build a new hobby on a foundation of avoidance is probably not a winning strategy.

Thanks for the fun videos! But I’ve got work to do.


Your Clickables, Sir

The Nooner belongs in your inbox.

Every post is made to

Share

Leave a comment

1 Comment
Dispatches from Inner Space
The Nooner with J.E. Petersen
Dispatches from Inner Space presents: The Nooner - a daily distribution of open-ended ideas.